Norman B. Leventhal Awards



Named in memory of A Better City’s founding director, the Norman B. Leventhal Excellence in City Building Awards recognized the leaders and innovators who have made significant contributions to our built environment in the areas of Infrastructure, Land Development, and the Environment 






2018 SPonsors 

Robin Chase, Co-Founder of Zipcar and Veniam

Land Development 

Ronald Druker, President of the Druker Company


Valerie Roberson, President of Roxbury Community College. Valerie's award was accepted on her behalf by Deborah Adesiji. 


Mayor Marty Walsh, City of Boston 

Thomas Tinlin, Former Highway Administrator, MassDOT

Land Development
Robert Beal, Former President, Related Beal

Cathy Douglas Stone, Former Chief of Environmental Services, City of Boston

2017 Sponsors

2017 Norman B. Leventhal Awards Highlights 



Thomas Glynn, Chief Executive Officer, Massport

Land Development
Cambridge Innovation Center
- Brian Dacey, President
- Tim Rowe, Chief Executive Officer


University of Massachusetts Boston
- Ellen Douglas PhD, Associate Professor
- Paul Kirshen PhD, Professor 

 View 2016 Sponsors

2016 Norman B. Leventhal Awards Highlights



2015 Honorees

Distinguished Leadership
Governor Michael Dukakis

Michael Capuano, US Representative, 7th Congressional District of Massachusetts

Land Development
John Drew, President & CEO, Drew Company Inc.

Boston Medical Center

- Kate Walsh, President & CEO

- Robert Biggio, Vice President of Facilities & Support Services

2014 Honorees

- Robert A. DeLeo, Massachusetts House of Representatives
- Therese Murray, Massachusetts Senate
- Stephen M. Brewer, Senate Committee on Ways and Means
- Thomas M. McGee, Joint Committee on Transportation
- Brian S. Dempsey, House Committee on Ways and Means
- William M. Straus, Joint Committee on Transportation

Land Development
Steven B. Samuels, Samuels & Associates

Frederick A. Laskey, Massachusetts Water Resources Authority

Distinguished Leadership
Deval L. Patrick, Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

2013 Honorees

Fred Salvucci, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Land Development
Thomas J. Hynes Jr., Colliers International

Gary L. Gottlieb, M.D., Partners Healthcare

Lifetime Achievement
Thomas M. Menino, Mayor, City of Boston

2012 Honorees

Jane Garvey, Meridiam Infrastructure

Land Development
Lawrence Cancro, Boston Red Sox

Amos Hostetter, Pilot House Associates (Continental Cablevision)

2011 Honorees

Frank DePaola, MassDOT (Accelerated Bridge Program & Fast 14 I-93 Rapid Bridge Replacement Project)

Land Development
Thomas M. Menino, Mayor, City of Boston

Bryan Koop, Boston Properties, Inc.

History of Norman B. Leventhal and the Awards

Mr. Leventhal, who was born in 1917 and raised in Boston, was recognized many times throughout his life for contributions to the built environment in Boston, including Center Plaza, Rowes Wharf, South Station, One Post Office Square, the Hotel Meridien and affordable housing. He was the founding chairman of A Better City (formerly known as the Artery Business Committee) and championed the organization's transition to focusing on a larger breadth of initiatives in the Boston area following the completion of the Central Artery Tunnel Project.

In 1945, Normal Leventhal co-founded Beacon Construction Company, which grew to become an award-winning developer and manager of office buildings, affordable housing and hotels. 

In 1997, Boston Mayor Thomas M. Menino named the park in Post Office Square “Norman B. Leventhal Park” in recognition of his leadership of the Friends of Post Office Square and in the demolition and revitalization of what was previously a multi-story parking garage. 

In 2003, Mr. Leventhal, in partnership with the Boston Public Library, established The Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library. The Map Center is dedicated to education through the use of maps and provides public access to the Center’s extensive collection of 250,000 maps and atlases.

In 2007, Mr. Leventhal was inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Mayor Menino formally designated The Walk to the Sea as the “Norman B. Leventhal Walk to the Sea” in recognition of his role in shaping the new Boston. He served as a life member emeritus of the MIT Corporation. He was a board member and former chairman of the Friends of Post Office Square and Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital.

In 2011, A Better City hosted the first Norman B. Leventhal Awards ceremony to honor those in the Boston region who continued Norman's legacy of impact on the city's growth and quality of life. He passed away in 2015 at the age of 97, having left an indelible mark on Boston's public space and built environment.


BR+A Consulting Engineers

Click on any image below to see a larger view and slideshow. To move forward and backward, click the arrows in the image, or use the right and left arrow keys on your keyboard.

NBL2019photo 1photo 2photo 3NBL2019photo 5photo 6photo 7photo 8photo 9photo 10photo 11photo 12NBL2019photo 14photo 15NBL2019photo 17photo 18photo 19NBL2019photo 21photo 22photo 23NBL2019NBL2019photo 26photo 27photo 28photo 29photo 30photo 31NBL2019photo 33NBL2019NBL2019photo 36NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019photo 41NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019NBL2019